London WNBR Night Ride

The World Naked Bike Ride – WNBR is a world wide protest that;

  1. Wants to reduce dependency on Oil
  2. Promote cycle safety
  3. Promote body confidence

You can read more about the WNBR on various websites and Wikis including

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/World_Naked_Bike_Ride

London has its own WNBR protest that normally occurs on every 2nd Saturday of June.

Currently the ride has 6 start points and maybe that will increase in the future.

The collective that organises the London WNBR are considering organising a WNBR Night Ride, similar to that in Portland USA and I am looking into what needs to be agreed with the authorities.

-1f36d74c44c9e8dd

The idea is that we would organise the ride during one late evening in the first 2 weeks of September each year, the exact day will depend on the weather. It would be at the weekend if at all possible.

To help me understand what I need to discuss with the authorities and the collective, I’d like to understand your views on;

  1. Would you participate?
  2. How would you like to see it run?
  3. What are your ideas on pre/post ride party?
  4. Would you help to run it?

Just copy the above 4 items and write your response in a reply/comment to this post, please provide your actual email address otherwise I won’t be able to approve your reply to have it shown below.

Also we are doing a post ride survey, if you participated in the London WNBR this year would you please complete this short survey for us

https://surveyplanet.com/575ea943b77544ab46792dcd

If you want to email a longer reply, feel free to email ladygod1va@hotmail.co.uk

Thank you in advance.

 

 

3 Responses to “London WNBR Night Ride”

  1. Howard Anderson Says:

    Would you participate?
    Yes

    How would you like to see it run?
    The same as 2016 ride.

    What are your ideas on pre/post ride party?
    Parties are not really my thing.

    Would you help to run it?
    Yes but not sure how I could contribute, I have no experience as an organiser.

    nudehoward@gmail.com

  2. ChrisLT Says:

    1. Would I participate? Very likely.
    2. How would I like to see it run? Single start, single end.
    3. Parties? I don’t know London well enough, sorry. I would certainly like a post-ride party.
    4. Would I help run it? I live too far out to commit to pre-ride meetings, but otherwise would be willing to help on the day.

    5. Do I approve in principle? I very much prefer daytime rides where possible, but think a night ride could have a number of benefits:
    – it would frustrate many of the intrusive gawpers whose only interest is in seeing and snapping photographs of naked bodies
    – it would encourage anyone who would like to take part but fears public identification
    – it would reach people who are in town in the evenings but not during the day
    BUT I prefer daytime rides on balance because:
    – they show that we are fearless both in cycling the streets of London and in daring to be bare
    – there are far more pedestrians to see us, including families
    – it’s a lot warmer when the sun shines

    Good luck with organising it. I will come if I can.

    Chris Lusby Taylor
    clusbytaylor@gmail.com

  3. Dominic Mcguinness Says:

    – Would you participate? It is possible, but I would need to consider getting back to Birmingham whether to make it a weekend trip or come back same night.  – How would you like to see it run? Run on same lines as the earlier one. Is there more traffic in the day or night that may cause a problem in organising the ride? – What are your ideas on pre/post ride party? For both events in June and September it is a ice idea, but I usually try to get back as quick as I can, being so far from home, having a early start and late finish. – Would you help to run it? I am a more of a participant than a helper, having done a few of the rides I have seen some of the issues than can arise and I am not sure I would be so diplomatic.

Leave a Reply

